Alaska

I think I should talk about Alaska…

When I was younger, my father would travel to the AMA (American Medical Association) annual conventions.  Now, as much as my father tended to self-diagnose his illnesses, he was not a doctor.  He was a salesman for a mid-western pharmaceutical.  Sometimes when the conventions were held in interesting locations we combined business with a vacation.  So it was in 1958, we attended the AMA convention in San Francisco.

My father’s boss and his wife did not have any children, so I got to experience many new things. While in San Francisco, it was arranged that we would attend a stage play.  I look back and think how blessed I was to be able to watch Yul Brenner, and Deborah Kerr perform the “King and I” live.

My father always wanted to drive to Alaska, and we have friends that will be RV’ing there this summer.  But I’ve never really been to Alaska…and so I can’t actually talk about the state.

Before the stage play in San Francisco, we ate at an extremely nice restaurant….I even got dessert……….so I can talk about that, ……BAKED ALASKA.  Well I can discuss what I remember, I was only 10 at the time.  I remember it was ice cream…….I remember it came out flaming……a blue flame…..I remember, I got to eat it before the flame went out!!!  I also remember the reason for the flame… ..DEVIL RUM!!!!, which didn’t all burn…….and I was a little sick……but very happy…….   🙂

Which brings me to today…….My mother recently had a birthday……..and her age……well….ah…she’s a generation older than me…….one thing lead to another and we were unable to take her out to eat on or near “the day.”  So, we scheduled the birthday dinner for today, we drove to Indianapolis to eat at the “Oceanaire”, an extremely nice restaurant.  It had a waiter and a waiter’s helper, and a water-server, a coffee-server….really nice….

Luckily, our waiter was Rick, who we had had on a previous visit…..After our scrumptious meal, it was time for the birthday girl’s dessert…….at the moment I had to make a confession to Rick…..AND I must interject here, that my mother is hypoglycemic–that means she doesn’t eat starch or sugar   🙂   🙂   🙂   🙂

At this restaurant, birthday people get the standard birthday dessert — BAKED ALASKA…..  🙂  🙂  🙂  The birthday girl couldn’t have it……my wife had never tasted it and I barely remembered it…….So, WE got the dessert…..  Chocolate ice cream, and meringue (picture a McDonald’s soft-serve ice cream cone, with the twisty-swirly look, that’s what the meringue looked like), with a blue flame!!!

Ohhhhhh, was that good….yeah, I’ll talk about Alaska, Baked Alaska that is, for some time………am I glad my mother had a birthday….   🙂

About tgriggs17

Retired, CPA, enjoy freshwater fishing, being with my grandchildren, friends and family
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

