Mirror Mirror

These days our house is more often quite than not.   As I face the mirror in the mornings, I recall a plaque that my mother-in-law gave us which read, “The years skip along easily, its the days that are tough”, which makes me wonder, where DID my yesterdays go.

I have come to realize that I never have been a visionary.  I worked for people who had vision, but they hired me to complete their vision.  I think back to  high school, and I realize that I didn’t have plan for the future, I just moved with the flow of my friends.

When I was first married, I would focus only on today and what would life and marriage bring today, at the moment, not about the future, everything seemed motionless, non-changing.

We are in a small group, studying “The Best Question Ever” by Andy Stanley; Ephesians 5:15, “…………….live, ………. wise, making the most of every opportunity…”

Where did all of those yesterday’s go, did I handle them wisely?  Did I covet the time I was given or did life’s importance get lost in the urgency’s of the moment? Well, yes, I had some short range planning, but that was mostly for my employment.  But, I have to wonder, looking into the mirror, will my wife and children remember that I spent my time wisely with them?

About tgriggs17

Retired, CPA, enjoy freshwater fishing, being with my grandchildren, friends and family
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mirror Mirror

  1. Kristy says:

    The verse also applies to not spending the present worrying about the past. Your wife and kids know how much you love them – and that’s what matters. Enjoy your today!

Leave a Reply

