Where were you?

In the 1950’s  there was a TV program called “You Are There”.  It was an histo-documentary, explaining and/or describing through film and eye witness, certain events from the recent past.

I’d like to play a game-‘Where were you’?

1.  Where were you May 2, 2011 when you learned about the killing of Osama bin-Laden?-I was In Atlanta, Ga. helping my youngest child with house projects.

2.  February 28, 1986, when the Shuttle Challenger exploded during take-off?  I had been working in my home-office when my wife came home and told me–up until this time space shuttle launches had become mundane.

3.  July 21, 1969-“One small step for man, one giant leap for mankind”.  Neil Armstrong’s walk on the moon. The Russia’s started the space race, but the U.S. decided to win it.  I was in Lafayette, Indiana, watching, with the rest of the country, the event on TV.

4.  December 7, 1941-“A day that will live in infamy”.  The Japanese bomb Pearl Harbor.  Well, no matter what my grand kids may think, I wasn’t around. My mother was a teenager, and she listened to a broadcast of the news that day on a homemade wire-wound crystal radio. Crystal Radio–a radio that draws its power from the crystal rather than from any other power source.

Just imagine, how the new communication has changed information sharing.  When Lincoln was assassinated, word spread by telegraph; Pearl Harbor by radio;  Moon Walking by video transmission and real-time helmet cameras for the raid on Osama bin-Laden.

I wonder, what will the next great historical event be, and how will you learn about it?

About tgriggs17

Retired, CPA, enjoy freshwater fishing, being with my grandchildren, friends and family
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

