Lost and Found

Where did it go?

Many of you have noted that I’ve been having fun with this blog for a few months.  It’s been a great way to share moments of my life and growing.  In fact there have been so many moments that I want to share that I forget some of them before I sit here at the keyboard (typewriter as if were my high school days).

So, I began to save my thoughts by quickly-titling a heading and returning to do the content at a later date.

I stored this title 20 days ago….but can’t remember why.  I’ve thought and thought, I’ve even asked my lovely wife, who often is the source of some of the content.  If she remembered, she didn’t/wouldn’t tell me.  So, what could have been the reason I was going to talk about lost and found?

I guess the short obvious answer, is I’ve LOST the content and I’ve been unable to find it!!

As long as I’m here though, and I’ve got your attention, let me discuss typewriters.  Most of the youngergeneration may never have seen one let alone used one.  It seems that I needed to take a typewriting class to graduate high school (1960’s typewriters; manual, black inked ribbons, carriages with return levers).  I vaguely remember that there are/were two types, Pica and Elite (?), denoted by different character size/font.  The new, young, blond, great looking typing teacher is the only reason I learned to type WITHOUT looking at the keys.  I remember taking and occasionally passing typing tests.

My wife has experience keyboarding letters and reports for doctors, my children have all had keyboarding classes and “stroke” characters as well with their thumbs as their fingers….and they all marvel  at how much I “type” and how little I produce.  Yep, my typing teacher would be greatly disappointed in how many time I have to “retype” “fat-fingered” words…

I guess what ability I had to type has been lost too!

About tgriggs17

Retired, CPA, enjoy freshwater fishing, being with my grandchildren, friends and family
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lost and Found

  1. Ben Griggs says:

    Actually, I never had a typing class. I had to learn “on the fly” when taking numerous computer programming classes in HS. For years, I did it improperly as my right hand covered more of the keyboard with my left, until I got a “Microsoft Natural” keyboard which made that style impossible.

Leave a Reply

