Barns

The South Fork

There are many ok places to eat in this country. But—there is this ONE problem.  In my “neck-of-woods”, middle-mid-west, most of the eating placing are chains, or at least franchises of chains.   That means that you can be certain that what you order in Hoboken, is what you get in South Bend.  The menu is the same, as is the how it is prepared, served and as is the ingredients that you begin with.  I’m certain that in one of my other blogs, I’ve addressed this….but, in case you didn’t read it or can’t find it…let me repeat, I’m not overly fond of chain restaurants.  First, I don’t care for them BECAUSE everything DOES taste exactly the same, also, they can’t just prepare food, they have to “adorn” the food with cheese, onion rings, cabbage, or some other non-compatible stuff!

I like the “little” eateries..not only do they have down-home wholesome foods it’s also VERY educational!  We were visiting the South Fork, in Mulberry the other day and they had these informative paper place mats.  They described and pictured various BARNS styles from around the country.  Did you know that barns are an AMERICAN INVENTION?  I didn’t either.

So, now, I’ve been paying attention to barns.  Traveling through southern Indiana, Kentucky, Tennessee and Virginia, I noticed that most of the barns are painted black!  Interesting, this is to draw heat into the barn.  These barns are used for drying/curing tobacco.  The tobacco,is hung on pole inside the barn, with enough space between the poles/racks left and right and above and below to allow air flow.

The barns in Indiana, Illinois and Ohio, seem to be falling down.  That’s because middle-mis-west farmers have focused only on grain, so silo’s are the only thing they need.  They no longer have live stock, so they no longer need barns.

I was beginning to lament the passage of an era, barn era that is, when we drove to New Jersey.  Passing through central Pennsylvania along I-80, we say the most precious, well maintained humongous barns I’ve ever seen. They must have been twice the size of the Wisconsin dairy barns I’ve noticed along I-80/90. These Pennsylvania barns, painted bright red, with towering silo’s are what I imagine barns are suppose to be.

About tgriggs17

Retired, CPA, enjoy freshwater fishing, being with my grandchildren, friends and family
This entry was posted in Education, Learning, Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

