Easter

We are in the Easter “Season”.  I don’t know why anyone would call it a season, but there you have it.  I have been seeing, at least in those store I visit, little chicks and ducklings for sale.  Do THAT many people buy chicks and ducklings for kids Easter gifts, or is it just the time of year to replenish the food supply?

We had chicks once, here in the deep woods, of the middle midwest. I think I was in my early teen years.

I visited my grandmother when I was around 11 years old, spent a week or two there.  It was my dad’s mother.  She really lived in the country, in southeastern Illinois.  Grandma raised chickens, pullets for sale.  One day while I was visiting, grandma decided it was time to sell some pullets, so we got out the wire hook.  We, actually she, caught the pullets by the leg, pulled them to her and put them into a slatted wooden cages, loaded them in the back of the truck and off we went town.  Now THAT’s country living!!!  Riding with grandma in the pickup truck, taking your chickens to the slaughter-house, wow what a time.  We had fresh fried chicken every evening…and sliced tomato sandwiches for lunch EVERY day.  The bread was toasted, buttered and layered with sliced tomatoes.  ( I think I gained 10 pounds in that two weeks) Oh yes, but I digress.  Grandma also had some laying hens, those are the ones we got the eggs from…I didn’t like that job.  The hens didn’t like you taking their eggs (for the skillet).

We had chicks once, here in the deep woods, of the middle midwest.  I think I was in my early teen years.  You may think this silly, but I, for the life of me, can’t remember much about OUR chicks.  I didn’t want them for a school project. I even think we may have actually gotten fertilized eggs and hatched them under a warm light.  This may have been something my dad may have thought would have been good for me, or for them.  Once the chicks hatched they do what all chickens do, scratch and peck at the ground.  So, I’m thinking that dad decided we had better be giving them something to scratch in, so “we” scooped a little dirt out of the yard and threw it (probably, actually, just placed it) in the box the chicks habitated.

Almost immediately the chicks began falling over.  Of the six or ten that we began with, we were losing 1 or 2 a day. In five days they were gone.

The moral of the story… NEVER fertilize your chicks.  Or to state it another way, never let your chicks scratch in yard dirt that’s been fertilized!

About tgriggs17

Retired, CPA, enjoy freshwater fishing, being with my grandchildren, friends and family
This entry was posted in Dad, Education, Learning, Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Easter

  1. Cyhthia says:

    Oh my goodness! You had the famous toast and tomatoe sandwiches too! Still LOVE them to this day. Those and her hamburgers that were stacked so high that you couldn’t get it in your mouth! haha I remember the chickens in back but never got to take them to town to sell. Lots of great memories!

Leave a Reply

