Wheels Part 1

 

Ponder these two pictures. On the left is a 1963 VW Beetle on the right is a 1960 Oldsmobile, convertible, white rag top, and Golden Rocket engine.

My father purchased the one (or a similar one) on the right.  It was a fantastic car.  If you remember my last couple of blogs made reference to having common sense.  My current level of common sense isn’t too bad, but, looking back, it was probably a little slim in my teen years. When a boy turns about 14, driving a car becomes a constant thought.  So, it was, when I was about 14 my father TRADED the car on the right for the one on the LEFT!!!!

A young man’s dating dreams were instantly shattered, while the parents safety dreams were instantly bolstered.  I did get some pre-licensed driving practice.  I was allowed to drive the Bug, to our gas tank.  We had a 300 gallon, free-standing, gravity flow gas tank we used for the cars and tractor.  After I filled up the Bug, I’d run it down the our gravel lane, through woods and back–about as fast as I could go.

This one time, I drove out to end of the lane, stopped and looked…….and there beyond were two separate farmers fields.  A small one on the right and a larger one on the left.  I chose the larger.  Hey, it’s like a big open race track.  Across it I flew.  BANG!!!!  I hit my, head on the roof, my glasses were askew.  I stopped the car and looked.  DANG, never having been in that field before, I didn’t realize there was about a 3 foot wash in it.  I had driven right to, into and through it…  The car….well it was a Bug, light weight, not built like a tank, so, the bumper was bent, fenders cracked, but drivable.  But now I limped back to the house.  I had to wait for my father to come home from a trip and explain to him what mom had already told him on the phone.  That was a long and agonizing two days.

Yep, common sense was a little thin in those years.

About tgriggs17

Retired, CPA, enjoy freshwater fishing, being with my grandchildren, friends and family
This entry was posted in Dad, Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wheels Part 1

  1. bev says:

    I’ll have to make sure Alex reads this one!!!

  2. Ben Griggs says:

    I’ve heard the story about swapping the olds for the bug before, but the visual aid makes it that much funnier…:)

Leave a Reply

