Just 2 minutes a day

Post #128

Here I sit on the first day of October, watching the early morning news.  The weather man stated that between the first of the month and the end, we will lose about hour of daylight.

Now, this month has 31 days, so that’s roughly a loss of 2 minutes a day.  Now I’m thinking 2 minutes doesn’t seem like much, but an hour is a BUNCH of daylight.  I don’t like the thought of losing an hour’s daylight.  That turns my thinking to “I don’t really like losing 2 minutes a day.

I know, I know, 2 minutes is a subtle adjustment.  Expanding my thoughts on this……it makes me realize that the subtleness is SO subtle that we have this  EVERY day…..It’s must be a loss 2 minutes in the summer as well (that is AFTER the summer solstice) , but we’re so busy we don’t realize it…  In fact this daylight adjustment of 2 minutes a day must happen ALL year around, but in the dead of winter, it’s so DARK, we don’t see it.  (Actually, here in this portion of the middle midwest, we have so much cloud cover in the winter–that’s November to April– that here isn’t much realization of sunlight, other than bright and dim.)  Suddenly in April the clouds part and we see the sun, and the first hint of smiles cross winter-worn faces.

No, 2 minutes a day, doesn’t see like much, but its an omen for the dark days to come.

IF, I can just hold on until the after the winter solstice, we should GAIN the same 2 minutes a day…I just won’t see it (here), in the middle midwest until April!!

About tgriggs17

Retired, CPA, enjoy freshwater fishing, being with my grandchildren, friends and family
This entry was posted in Learning, Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

