Push the Cart

Post #131

Many of us ponder growing older in many aspects.  One of the most distinguishing of these is that the older you become the more like your parent you are.  Sometimes its your father other times it could be your mother.  I’ve been hearing, that I sound like my father more every day.  I guess I would have to say, that I often catch myself thinking about saying, or more appropriately “retorting” as my father would have.

But, let’s not be one-sided.  There are things that I take after my mother, as well as her father.  I have always enjoyed looking over maps.  I can remember in my early youth, my grandfather pouring over maps as we planned our family trips to Colorado.  And, this leads to my second attribute of my maternal side.  Being a Type A, in control person.  I like to be in control, and if not in total control to at least be informed of the TOTAL expectation of the plan, as well as the execution time line.

I have heard it said over the many years, that the ONE thing that tests a marriage more than anything else is a husband and wife wallpapering together.  Now, I really can’t see how that is a major problem.  We have done it….and at 43 years are still married….to each other.  We would use selfpasted wallpaper, she would soak it, I would hang it, and we would both brush it, and she would do the final brushing.

In the early days of our marriage, when the kids were little, I did all the grocery shopping, and good at it I was (even if I do say so myself).  After a job responsibility change, I had less time, so my wife took over more of those types of duties as the children became high schoolers.

My wife and I are both, now, retired.  This affords us the opportunity to do more things together—-like grocery shopping.  My wife prepares the list and we “hit” the grocery together, I tend to glance at the list and shoot off like a rocket to pick up something we need.  This action, on my part, has become a problem in our marriage, first of all, I slip my prize in the cart, and secondly the retrieval is out of the “list purchasing sequence”!

I have learned that it’s best to ASK, what my wife wants me to retrieve from HER list.  Upon my return, I discover, a.  that’s NOT the brand WE want or b. I WOULDN’T pay that much for it!

It’s not easy for a TYPE A person, who wants to “pull” the cart to be relagated  to “pushing” the cart and being told to turn left or right as the wife desires.

Yep, my wife says “just push the cart”, I’ll get the groceries.  I’m beginning to believe that this joint effort, is better achieved non-jointly.  In our grocery store, we have a couple of chairs in the magazine section, where I sit while thumbing through the latest fishing news.

We survived wallpapering……..pushing the cart is not a “togetherness situation.

About tgriggs17

Retired, CPA, enjoy freshwater fishing, being with my grandchildren, friends and family
This entry was posted in Education, Learning, Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Push the Cart

  1. Eulalia Griggs says:

    This brings back a lot of memories of me and your Dad

    after he retired!

  2. Sara says:

    That’s not the brand WE want. Haha! A lot of wives would make good managers 🙂

Leave a Reply

