Looking Older

Post #139

My wife’s birthday is upon me.  She reached 64 this year.  In a moment of conversation she looked at me and stated, ” I see you’re looking older”.   I was shocked!  As we get older, there are just SOME things you have to accept.

We’ve been married 43 years, and as an obidient husband, I learned long ago, that certain terms, words or phrases a husband just  has to “put up on the shelf”  and never use, such as; “you’re getting older”, “I see wrinkles”, “crows feet”, “a grey hair”, “sagging”, “paunch”, etc.

True, I have been noticing, that the person looking back in the mirror at me, has not a hint of resemblance to anyone who used to look back at me.

You know that you’ve aged when, you meet a former close friend, who after 20 years absence, looks at you and has no idea who you are, and then tries to cover it up with “Oh, Yeah, I remember”.

I don’t know how our children see us.  Well, yes I do.  Aging changes are subtle between 20 to 30, or even 30 to 40, but they are vivid between 60-70. Our daughter, who  lives near enough to see us on a regular basis, would see little change.  Our sons, whom we see less often would see a great change.  I guess Einstein’s theory of Relativity would somehow apply here-Aging is more noticeable the less often you see someone (or the further away you are).

Back to our recent conversation; “I was shocked!”  As the two us get older, we talk in the first person singular; “I feel older today”, “I feel an ache in my joints today”, “I don’t see myself in the mirror anymore”.  But here, in my wife’s  conversation, a new precedent was set.  Well, let me think, no…probably not a new precedent, rather its the same old standard.

She gets to say whatever she wants, my words on the other hand, must remain on the shelf.  Just a word of caution to all of those men-readers who are decades behind me but are anticipating making it to my decade.  Keep your words on the self…

About tgriggs17

Retired, CPA, enjoy freshwater fishing, being with my grandchildren, friends and family
This entry was posted in Life, Medical, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

