TIKI

Post #165

Tiki is the name of a Polynesian God.  You’ve may vaguely remember the name Kon Tiki, which was a raft that sailed (or drifted) around the Pacific until landing on some islands, which supposedly proved how certain persons got from point A to point B in the Pacific,

Tiki was also the name of the twin masted boat (or is that a ship), in the TV series, “Adventures in Paradise“.  This was my father’s favorite TV show.  I can remember portions of episodes.  Dad had owned a couple of small sail boats, and he loved to sail.  I believe he also enjoyed the allure of the south pacific.

My mother recently moved and she wrestled with the task of sorting and clearing out stuff.  She didn’t down-size, so clearing out was not a difficult task.  I must get my “saving” from her.  I can say that, as I sit here looking at our kitchen counter, where sits, out-of-place, a concertina.

Doesn’t everyone have a concertina in their kitchen?  Have you ever seen one?  It’s sometimes called a squeeze box, octagonal, with buttons for note control and you work it like an accordion.  The concertina has survived two or our moves and it’s not even MINE!

During the era of “The Adventures in Paradise” my father longed to have a concertina and one Christmas he got his wish.  I have seen home movies of him sitting on chair, pants legs rolled up with feet on the foot stool, as if he were on the poop-deck of the Tiki.  As I have stated in the past, my father’s musical ability was not deep, and his interest waned.  The concertina, expensive as it was, found a home in the back corner of the closet.  Well, that is where it sat until the next Christmas, when my dad opened up a questionable box and found, again, the concertina.  Mom, had determined that it was an expensive enough gift the first time, and so little used, that it could be RE-GIFTED, to the SAME PERSON.  What a laugh we all got.

Again, the concertina as found a home, in the corner of my heart, I don’t need it, can’t play it, but I just can’t seem to include it in the sort and pitch stuff.

About tgriggs17

Retired, CPA, enjoy freshwater fishing, being with my grandchildren, friends and family
This entry was posted in Christmas, Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to TIKI

  1. David and Tammie Olson says:

    awweeee I hope you find a great place to displayed the musical instrument….there’s some good memories there!

Leave a Reply

