Being Retired

Post #185

When I was growing up, as an only child, I always did everything that my parents did. I traveled where they went, attended conventions when my father did etc.  Excepting for the period of late adolescents or early adulthood, we pretty much did everything together.

There came this period of life, that we had a separation.  My father retired, it seemed only logical that I should be retired also. They fished in Minnesota as they felt lead, wintered in Florida, it just seemed in all fairness, that I (and my entire family) should be included.

My father retired at 54.  When someone would ask how it retired so early, he’d reply “I got my work done”.  Needless to say, I didn’t join my dad in retirement.  In fact, my father passed on, seven years before I retired.  I did retire at 59.  How’d I retire so early?  “I got my work done.”

There are certain things that occur in retirement that are just backwards to non-retirement.

1.  I don’t get up at 5:30, shower, shave, eat and hit the road by 6:20.  I do get up at 5:30, make coffee, and watch the traffic reports, and smile.  It doesn’t matter what city I’m in, I just like seeing traffic that I’m NOT driving in….

2.  I used to shave six days a week.  Now I desire to shave one day a week, Sunday. I never liked shaving.  However, my devious wife seems to arrange dinner events about every three days, requiring additional shaving.  😦

3.  I used to travel to the home improvement store on Saturday or Sunday along, with 70% of the rest of the population.  Now I travel there during the week, when that 70% is at work.

4.  Speaking of projects, rather than crunching them on the weekend, I can spread them out during the week or two or three.

I know, it sounds great, doesn’t it.

In those days when dad and I talked about how I wished I could retire now (then).  In his words, “Well you could be 6o and retired or 35 and working”.  As I sit drinking my coffee, think about it, which would you rather be?

About tgriggs17

Retired, CPA, enjoy freshwater fishing, being with my grandchildren, friends and family
This entry was posted in Dad, Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

