Paper or Plastic

Post #187

In my younger years every grocery store had a bagger, and every bag was paper.  In my middle years the entire country decide that you could bag your own purchases, a labor savings, and your bags became plastic.

Plastic was modern mans push to save the environment.  What duffes!  Yeah, we may not be cutting down trees, and using petroleum to plant, harvest, and process the trees into bags…..but we didn’t have the foresight to realize that our trashy society would let the bags float up into those trees we no longer cut down.

We also never realized that plastic in our landfills, stayed there for a ga-zillion years.

I now see that some states are putting an extra tax on retailers for using plastic bags.  It is with interest that I see our local (summer time) grocery asks, “paper or plastic?”.

Paper or plastic…reminds me of my college days, with much humor.   As I have stated before, I am an only child, so my big break-away from home was moving into a trailer with two other guys during some college years.   The oldest of my room mates was out of college, and a disk-jockey at the local radio station, where I worked part time.  (This is the guy that I had the snow ball fight with, inside the station)  Bob and I were still in college and Ken was working full time.  Ken wasn’t a cook, but like to eat, as we all do.  Bob and I took turns doing the cooking.

The first major meal we had, Ken volunteered for the clean up. We were using plastic coated paper plates…..   🙂  🙂  🙂  We told Ken he could wash the plates!  He goes, aren’t they paper?   We validated with each other, that’s why they’re plastic coated.  🙂  🙂  🙂

Ken put the plates in the sink to soak!!  🙂  🙂  🙂  Bob and I took off!  We heard about it from Ken later!

Would you like Paper or Plastic?  When will we learn?  Neither is environmentally good, sort of like making ethanol….good idea, but in this country, it takes more energy to make ethanol, than it saves the environment to use it……..or CFL light bulbs-hey I’ve turned that story before!!

About tgriggs17

Retired, CPA, enjoy freshwater fishing, being with my grandchildren, friends and family
This entry was posted in Ecology, Jokes, Life, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

