Bringing home the bacon

Post #198

The other day my wife told to go the store and bring home some bacon.  That reminded me of a television commercial in the 80’s, it was during the “women’s movement”.  There was this working woman she came home, singing “I can bring home the bacon and fry it a pan!”  A play on a woman’s versatility.

“Older and wiser”, are the words in the Music Man.  Most young people think we older ones don’t know or remember enough pertinent date that can add to their education…but, let add a piece of life experience to your data bank.

I’ve ALWAYS been a bacon fan, an almost connoisseur of bacon. I loved the flavor of bacon, that is until my mid-30’s.  I began experiencing “lights, and flashes before my eyes.”  After some time of thinking it through, I realized, that bacon and canned ham seemed to be the culprits.  I determined that it must be the nitrates in the meat.  When I ceased bacons consumption, I no longer experience those problems.  Still wanting bacon, however, I moved to eating slab bacon, no coloring, no nitrates, no “other” stuff.  I felt like a cowboy.

My father, loved to taste food, guess the ingredients and attempt their replication on weekends, that is until he got older and his allergies kicked in, he lost his ability to taste.

Some time ago, I lost the ability to taste bacon.  My wife says it’s my allergies.  I can smell it frying, but I can’t taste it, it’s been so long that I don’t remember what it’s suppose to taste like.

Yeah, wife says it’s the allergies, but I believe it’s just old age.  Here’s the piece of advice I’ve giving you for your data bank.  As you age, your tastes NOT only change, but you lose them.  I’ve known that fact for some time, but like cancer, I thought it only happened to the other guy.

Like all older people, salt and sweet are  prominent on my taste buds, other noticeable flavors include apple, oranges, lemons, limes, coffee (albeit richer, stronger is best), and luckily–chocolate!

Enjoy your bacon today, for your days are numbered, soon you too will smell the aroma, but loose the taste.

About tgriggs17

Retired, CPA, enjoy freshwater fishing, being with my grandchildren, friends and family
This entry was posted in Learning, Life, Medical, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

