Transitioning

Post #211

I’ve been thinking about transitioning a lot lately.  My wife and I are in the midst of a race, we’ve been married over 44 years.  I know that’s not a record, and as life turns we probably won’t be setting the record, however long that may be. That’s not morbid, it’s just that there can only be one winner in a race, and many people are participating.

Our marriage has produced three well-balanced, self-sufficient, loving children, they continue to be a blessing. We also have seven granddaughters and 3 grandsons.  As I get older, I ponder THE transition.  The transition from innocence to teenage, to young adult, to married person, parent, grandparent, etc. Is that one continual transition or many significant transitions?

As I write this, Christmas is just before us, but it won’t be published until Christmas has passed.

Christmas always brings to mind things we did in the past, how we celebrated, who was with us, things like that.  I suppose we all are afflicted with moments of remembrances, sometimes produces melancholy.  Every Christmas year brings different remembrances, but there is one recurring one.  It’s that almost teenage, and early teenage time.

As a teenager you feel soooo self-conscious, you’re no longer a child, but you don’t fit in as an adult, yet.  You seem tall, some pimples, a little clumsy, definitely EVERYONE is watching you, so it seems.

You poured over all the catalogues looking for Christmas wants, and yet the toys look so childish, but, who wants clothes, there’s no excitement in those.  The family gathers, packages are passed around, opening turns are taken, socks, underwear, shirts, and grandma gives you a wash cloth, (yeah, haha).  You want to go melt away somewhere.  Adult talk is boring. The children are playing with their new toys, again boring.

I believe in generations gone-by, there were more chores required of the children, with ever-increasing responsibility as they matured, which help you measure yourself.  It seems today, that chores have been substantially replaced with entertainment devices, which absorb our time.

As I was considering this transitioning, I picked up the phone.  I had  a call to make.  One of my grandson’s is nearly a teen.  It was slow at first, but eventually he began opening up to me on the phone call.  After a few moments, I posed a question to him.  “I would like to know what you think? I want to know if this year you would feel more comfortable opening presents with the adults or the kids.”  (Our family separates the two events).  There was silence, I waited.  Eventually he said, “I think I’d like to be with the kids this year grandpa.  Alright,” I said,  “I just wanted to be sure you would be in the right place.  I love you.”

As great as life can be,  transitioning through it is tough. A lot of things happen in transition, six decades later, there’s been a lot of transition.

About tgriggs17

Retired, CPA, enjoy freshwater fishing, being with my grandchildren, friends and family
This entry was posted in Christmas, Learning, Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

