How’d I get Here Part 2

Post #235

I’ve been talking about aging.  I do this not so much out of senility but as an education for all of you younger than I;  consider it a prophecy for you.

We live in a woods, I love this woods, as did my father.  We logged off the property, (the more mature trees) before we built our retirement home and there are tops of trees lying everywhere.  Some other trees continue to die or are blown down.  Plenty of activity for an amateur woodsman.

Over time, I have become a little smarter, I hope!  Years ago, I lost a neighbor, who, when cutting down a tree, was crushed to death.  I too cut down (dead) trees, occasionally. Which means yes, I still use a chain saw.   Half of our woods is on a hill side. The slope of the hill is about 40 degrees with a 200 f0ot drop.  I have a four wheel drive tractor for working in the woods and I’ve needed a way to traverse to the bottom of the hill.  For the 11 years we’ve lived here, I’ve stood atop the hill and searched for a way down. I have chosen a route and for a couple of years cautiously have been clearing the path. ( As I get older I have notice that a lot of thought goes into a project before it’s started) A couple of larger obstacles have impeded me, and in my caution, I keep looking at them, thinking of safety.  I looked in the mirror the other day and realized, these obstacles keep growing larger and I just keep getting older.

I was reminded of the story a few years back, of the 84 year old Minnesotan, who single-handedly was “cutting” a new 25 mile road from point A to point B.  Not to be out done, I picked up my chain saw and cleared the rest of my path, using the tractor to drag my freshly cut obstacles out of the way.

It’s never very far from the back of my mind, that one day, some day, I will no longer be able to handle a chain saw, nor drive the tractor down the hill.  That realization makes me reflect back to the walk and talk I had with my father, when that know-it-all kid said, “you’ll just know” (because you won’t be able to do it any longer).

The REAL answer is this;  At some point on your life’s journey, life flips upside down; I don’t know when it did, but now I see it’s happened to me!!!  “When you’re young, you always see yourself as older, and mature—When your older, you always see yourself as younger, and agile”.

Well dad, I don’t know how I got here, but here I am…..

 

About tgriggs17

Retired, CPA, enjoy freshwater fishing, being with my grandchildren, friends and family
This entry was posted in Dad, Learning, Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How’d I get Here Part 2

  1. Tammie R Olson says:

    Terry Griggs….why do you do this to all of us? Great Part 2. You are full of wisdom and we really love reading your blog. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

