I Had a Dream

Post # 244

I had a dream the other night, or was it in the morning?  I never understood sleep studies, in order to decide which part of you night your dream.  I just know I had one, a dream that is.

It had been a full week.  As you may remember we summer in the upper Midwest, on  a lake.  Each year we invite our children and their children to visit us.  Since we are part of a resort, our families enjoy the beach, pool, fishing with grandpa, riding in the boat, etc. etc.

My father also summered in the upper Midwest, on this same lake, enjoying the some of the same experiences.

During the summer, I am able to fish, at my leisure, on the days that appear to be most productive. (but may not be)

As my kids visit, relax, reflect and enjoy, and I teach my grandchildren the hunt, and excitement of fishing for big Pike and Musky, I begin feeling like my dad.  My dad, had some of the same fishing experiences with me and my children.  Sitting in the boat, taking someone trolling, teaching them the distinctions of the lake, I just feel like I’m my father, doing it all over again.  It helps the feeling, when I look at the back of my hands, and they look like his. Some times the words or phrases I use, I have had heard him say.

The last night of my son’s vacation, I had a dream.  I dreamed about my father’s death.  Although his passing was several years ago, it returned to me in a dream.

I’ve been thinking about the reason for the dream.  I could have dreamed it just because I had been thinking of our parallel summer living experiences.  Or, I could have dreamed it because my kids were leaving, which is always a sad time.  Maybe it was all of these things and more.

I had a dream and it was very real.

About tgriggs17

Retired, CPA, enjoy freshwater fishing, being with my grandchildren, friends and family
This entry was posted in Dad, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

