It was a Dark and Dismal Night

Post #256

It was a dark and dismal night. The fog enveloped the street lamp, inhibiting illumination to mere feet.  The air was cold and damp.  Clown and I could barely see the foot path.   Automobiles could be heard approaching, but sight was limited to the last moment.

We trudged along the path.  Angel and babe remained at the house, young Champ their only protection. We stopped at one place then crossed the dimly lit road to another and yet another.

New to the area, I only knew of only three houses that I trusted that I could take clown to on this first of our Halloween nights in Minnesota. It was not the type of evening I felt comfortable taking my two-year old son out into. I fidgeted wanting to return home.

We only had 20 goblins that evening.  Clown really had no idea what we were doing or why we were given candy, but with so few visitors, there was plenty of candy left over.

On this Halloween day, I am looking out my window this afternoon, the temperature has dropped to 37 degrees, rain mixed with snow is falling, the fireplace is roaring, and I can see clown, the fog and 37 years ago.  Angel wonders where we’ve been, Champ is jumping at my feet excited.

About tgriggs17

Retired, CPA, enjoy freshwater fishing, being with my grandchildren, friends and family
This entry was posted in Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It was a Dark and Dismal Night

  1. e.griggs@comcast.net says:

    Good!

Leave a Reply

