Speed Test

Post # 258

I was sitting at my computer at our summer location grumbling about its slowness on the internet. Granted, I only seem to park myself in those locals that none of you would ever frequent.  Locations that seemingly are out of reach of modern technology.  At our summer local, my connectivity is limited to DSL.  (Despairingly Slow Line) There is an on-line program that allows you to test your internet connection speed. I pulled it up and ran my test, .5 (that’s POINT 5), .5 mgs, (POINT 5 mega bits per second!).   Do to my location, my Verizon Hot Spot isn’t useable (Can you hear me now? NO!).  I am in a woods, behind a hill, out of line of site from the towers.

Upon arriving back home, there seemed to be a lot of updates needed to my computers that “rested” all summer, I blew past my Plan Gigabytes. Verizon wants me to increase my plan usage, BUT, they don’t allow any credit for non-use, those months I spend on DSL! What I noticed was that my usual download speed, based on my speed test, dropped by half, as I exceeded by the plan useage.

So what does this have to do with anything?  I sort of looked upon this as life in reverse. A speed test on life.  My wife and I were sitting in front of the fireplace the other morning, coffee in hand, contemplating the near future.  Near future in relation to my wife’s birthday which is approaching this week.  Without getting into too much trouble let me just say she will be passing her middle sixties.  Her comment was, “boy it seems these birthdays come around sooner than they used to”.

So, here we have the speed test of life. In our youth, when we’ve not USED UP, many years of life, there seems to be great distance between our birthdays.

In our later years, the distance between birthdays is seemly  a blink of the eye.  I believe it must be a variant on Einstein’s Theory of Relativity, depending upon where you stand in the time line of life, depends upon how fast life seems to go.

About tgriggs17

Retired, CPA, enjoy freshwater fishing, being with my grandchildren, friends and family
This entry was posted in Learning, Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Speed Test

  1. tom swartz says:

    well said.

  2. Dave and Tammie Olson says:

    that was really neat.

    so Marcie has a birthday this week YIKES I have a packege ready and should of sent it last week. don’t get your hopes up to high…Marcie…..just saying…it will bring back some good laughs!

    slow day at work due to the weather. Just found this in my draft account tro

Leave a Reply

