MORE POWER

Post #261

There was a TV show I enjoyed watching, a Disney Production, called Tool Time.  Maybe you have seen it?  Tim “The Tool Man” Taylor (Tim Allen) played the host of a Home Improvement Show, named Tool Time.  Actually it was his helper, Al Borland that was the true fixer-upper.  Whatever Tim worked on at home or on the show would always be better if he just added MORE POWER.  His power modifications usually blew up in his face.

I think MORE POWER must be me a man thing.  Naturally, if something works well, more power, faster, longer just is logically better.  You may laugh, but go to into any hardware store, look at the cordless screwdrivers and remember how they were over the last 15 years.  First there was the 9 volt, then the 12 volt, 18 volt and now the 24  and 36 volt.  It just stands to reason more is better.

I have this hobby I’ve played ar0und in for about 34 years.  Amateur Radio, sometimes called ham radio.  Yes, I’ve done the Morse Code, at one time I was fairly proficient as a code operator.  Now it’s more of  just regular speaking. I’ve had contacts with a majority of the countries in the world, including many that no longer exit. In the last 3 months, I’ve had contracts with Sweden, Switzerland, Germany, England, Finland, Russia and Slovenia to name a few.

I have a regular communication date with a Minnesota friend every week.  No matter how well I’ve been able to skip across the world, attempting a hop to Minnesota becomes difficult.  My friend is able to increase his signal with MORE POWER, by using an amplifier.  An amplifier can double or triple the strength of your signal.  Now, I’ve never owned an amplifier, but I’ve always, secretly, wanted one.  There’s a couple of things holding me back.   First, is the price. Depending upon the size of amplifier, a new one may cost upwards of $5000.  Second is my wife, she just can’t comprehend this male concept of MORE POWER.

Forty Five years ago, she believed that I could be molded into a model husband.  I am what I am.  She just didn’t realize she would be needing MORE POWER.  She just can grasp the concept.

About tgriggs17

Retired, CPA, enjoy freshwater fishing, being with my grandchildren, friends and family
This entry was posted in Education, Learning, Life, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MORE POWER

  1. Dave and Tammie Olson says:

    HaHaNot only does Ole like the MORE POWER concept, he is sure bigger is always better (golf bag had so many pockets he didn’t have anything to put in them all which resulted in “see I should buy more stuff” Men…. 

Leave a Reply

