Two Red Dots and a Black Stripe

Post #262

We are experiencing age recognition here in our house.  Age recognition comes when you realize that you can no longer truly remember the age you think your are because you way older than you believe you could be.  My wife struggled with her birthday this year…not the birthday, but the age she had to recognize that she has become.   I suffered through all that years ago.  I just about fell apart at 20….I realized I no longer could be called a teenager.  At 30, I was contemplating coffins.  And then things smoothed out, fifty came and went as did sixty.  ( Since I completed my life’s work at 59 and retired, I didn’t consider aging a big deal)  Sixty two came and went as did some of the years following.  With Christmas fast approaching, I realized however, that in not too many months my number will be 68.  68!

There are things that 68 year olds do that frighten me.  Although I traveled countrywide for while when I worked, retirement has me as a home-body and loving it.  Sure we to a short winter trip south and north for all summer.  But, I like sitting, reading, working the computer, ham radio, fishing in the boat, yada yada yada.  I have seen older men, walking around the mall with ice tea stained shirts, two different colored socks and pants unzipped. Man, I don’t want to go there.

I don’t particularly like to shave.  When I retired, I thought that the daily routine should be eliminated.  No, not to the full beard, been there, done that, got the medal.  My wife prods me into dinner trips a couple of times a week, certainly she must do just to get me to shave, and Sunday church also seems to require the shaving activity. So that’s enough shaving, usually.

Today, my wife had a hair appointment.  I could do my usual stay at home, but I had town chores.  I needed to visit the bank, the hardware store, Best Buy, and whatever else came to mind.  So we both prepared for the days events, which necessitated that I shave.  My first visit was to the bank.  I had a friendly visit with Ashley, the teller.  She inquired of my days activities, I stated with a smile that I planed to spend money.  Then it was on to the hardware store, looking for some color match filler for kitchen counter top mending.  None to be had.  Then I proceed to Best Buy.  While driving across town I looked in the rear view and spotted two red dots.  My heart raced.  Dang it, dang it dang it!  There under my chin was the clear telltale indication that today I had shaved!  TWO RED Spots, under my chin, where I had nicked myself.  I quickly did my best to “clean up” while driving.  As I pulled into the Best Buy parking lot, my two red dots disappeared.

My arrival at the store proceeded it’s opening, which gave me time to review some previously acquired materials, that to me, needed clarification.  Just before the doors opened, sitting in my truck, I took one more check for the red dots, gone! Wait, what is that on my lip?  A black stripe.  Dang it, dang it, dang it!  I had cleaned the fireplace glass door before leaving home and had apparently brushed my hand across my upper lip.

Here I had thought that Ashley and the hardware store helper were just happy as me this morning.  Little did I know I that I was starting their day off with a joke!

We’re getting ready to do out to dinner, we might as well, since I’ve already shaved today.  Wait, I need to look for a tea stains and check my zipper…  Yep, I realize I’ve become that old man in the mall!

 

About tgriggs17

Retired, CPA, enjoy freshwater fishing, being with my grandchildren, friends and family
This entry was posted in Learning, Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Two Red Dots and a Black Stripe

  1. Dave and Tammie Olson says:

    LOL AT WORK!!!!! Great story!Can’t wait to hear more of those while we play some cards!enjoy the Christmas season with your family. 

Leave a Reply

