Free Money for Life

Post #272

Do you ever engage the stupid side of your brain?   I know I engage once every 27 years.  (Someone I share a house with, believes it is more often than that)

It’s about every 27 years that the annual contest to receive $5000 a week for life grabs my one get rich brain cell and engages me into action.  Twenty seven years ago, it was a mailing that I received, “No purchases required, just enter to win”.  So I entered, but didn’t buy any magazines.   Every week I got this packet in the mail, with 20 different offerings, from which to choose to make a purchase, OR, I must mail in the “I don’t wanna” or lose my chance to win.  This drug on for weeks.  Four months down the calendar you just pitch the unopened offers in the closest circular container.

So here it is, 27 years later.  My memory isn’t what it used to be.  But this television advertisement comes on every 5 minutes, calling me to enter.  Now, it’s even easier, just go to their web site and sign up for the grand prize of $5000 a week for life AND you can designate a beneficiary!  Cool!!!

Signing up was easy, then it began……..  Every couple of days, the emails came, I had to sort through multiple pages of magazine and product offers or lose my chance to win the money. The closer you get to the selection date, the more offers come by email.  If you don’t keep on opening the mail, you lose your chance to win.  I’ve invested at least three weeks into this, and from the encouragement, I appear to be the expected winner.

Just one more week to go.   Uh Oh!!! My wife just informed me that on THE awards day, I won’t be here!  How will they be able to deliver to my house?   Maybe they are like Santa and can still find me…..  I hope, I hope, I hope!

After this week, maybe the stupid side of this brain won’t engage for another 27 years….shoot, in 27 years I won’t be able to distinguish stupid from non-stupid!

About tgriggs17

Retired, CPA, enjoy freshwater fishing, being with my grandchildren, friends and family
This entry was posted in Learning, Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

