Friday the 13th

“Post #276

What do you think about Friday the 13th?  I was sitting in the dentist’s chair thinking about my root canal.  Do you remember my root canal?  I spoke of it earlier.  The root canal finished, for the second time, I was now in the End Stage, back to my regular dentist to put on the “permanent patch”.   Seems like everyone and his brother has come up with a specialty service, no one person does the whole job anymore.

Anyway, here it is, Friday the 13th, and I am sitting in the dentist’s chair.  My wife had asked me if I thought it a bad omen, that this appointment fell upon such an auspicious day.  I must admit that the morning news touted the potential “blackness” of the day, cautioning everyone to be careful.

Did I ever explain my professional role in life before retiring to a life blogging?  I was employed by a state government.  I worked in the Tax Department.  More than that, I was a tax auditor, auditing businesses for their tax responsibility.

I’ve never understood the basis of this day, Friday the 13th, but I did understand its implication.  To me, it seemed just one more date on the calendar, in my mind.  But never let it be said that I didn’t take full advantage of such fearful thoughts in the minds of the suspicious.

Let me give you an example of my thought process.  First I was given a list of clients to contact for examination, by my supervisor.  I would check the calendar and determine if there were any Friday the 13th’s.  In those years of Friday the 13th, I would circle the date and then be certain to be in the office that day.

On Friday the 13th, I would pull out my inventory of clients folders and begin calling to make appointments for audits.  It would go like this;

“Good Morning, is this Mr.  XXXXX, Tax Director?”

“Yes this is.”

“Well, Congratulations, this is Mr. YYYYY of the State of Middle MidWest, and your company has been selected for an audit.  I would to schedule the appointment to examine your records.”

I  could just imagine the look on their faces at receiving that call on Friday the 13th..  chuckle, chuckle, yeah, I liked that day.

Ah, yes, I’m sitting here with water sprayers, suction nozzles, hanging out of my mouth, a bright light glaring above me, dentist drills humming around my ears like mosquitos, I love Friday the 13th.

About tgriggs17

Retired, CPA, enjoy freshwater fishing, being with my grandchildren, friends and family
This entry was posted in Jokes, Life, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

