Let me introduce

Post #285

What’s in a name?  I’ve heard that asked.  Long long ago, in a land far far away, people were honest and could (usually) be trusted.  A name and a hand shake extended credit, friendship and loyalty.  A name stood for integrity and character.

I see myself as a friendly person at least from the inside looking out.  I believe I have spent most of my life being friendly.  Well mostly friendly, there may have been a time or two that I fell short of friendliness.  I could and can usually strike up a conversation with nearly any unknown, first time, good meet you person standing in line at the anywhere five and dime.  However, if I’m with a other outward friendly people, I usually sit back and let them take the lead, while I just watch the interactions.

I can only imagine, at my birth, how introductions were passed around, it would probably go like this, ” This in Mr and Mrs. Griggs and their son Terry”.  As life progressed and I attended high school, my casualness in conversing with adults only increased.  Soon, in our newly acquired location (having moved to a new area in eighth grade), introductions changed to, “Oh, you must be Terry’s parents, everybody knows Terry.”

Life continued, I married, moved away, moved again, and then moved once more, raised a family, then nearing retirement, I moved back “home”.  At least I moved  back to the home area.  Interesting how the circle of life can be in played out in the most unusual pictures, introductions for one.  Now after returning “home”, introductions go like this, “Oh, your Mrs. Griggs’  son, Terry”.

Yep, I’m back home, sort of.  At least I live here, it true, “you  can never go home again”  says the novel by Thomas Wolfe.  There is great significance in that title.

Hello, my name is Terry, and I’m experiencing the circle of life.

About tgriggs17

Retired, CPA, enjoy freshwater fishing, being with my grandchildren, friends and family
This entry was posted in Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let me introduce

  1. Ben Griggs says:

    I must have missed the part where you turned into “Josh’s dad”

  2. e.griggs@comcast.net says:

    Very Good!  

Leave a Reply

