Cabin Fever

Post # 286

It’s widely known that for ten years, we resided in the upper Midwest, in an area known for it’s lakes. There was a time that I had had a position of employment that could recommend various job sites around the country.  As a child we vacationed  and enjoyed the upper Midwest and I believed my employer could use someone there. I promoted that reasoning and maneuvered myself in to it.  We took advantage of the lakes region and obtained a cabin.  Well, we call it a cabin, but maybe “lake place” is a better term.  Then again, what it really is, is a mobile home.  We don’t even own the property upon  which it sits.  There are beautiful homes around us, and most probably many of them look down upon us trailer dwellers. So, here it is, we own a mobile home, (some just call it a trailer,  if you’re in Florida it’s call a UNIT), it sits upon a lot that we lease from a resort.  We have lake view, the resort provides water, sewer, fish cleaning, mowing and trimming, and covered harbor in the lot rent, additionally is a charge for the electric.

Certainly, many people would turn up their noses at our arrangement.  But, let me explain the benefits beyond those items I’ve already noted that the resort provides.  When fall comes, I blow the water out of the lines and drive away.  I needn’t worry about the our place all winter.  We don’t retain or possess enough stuff for anyone to want to break-in and steal  anything, we don’t have any concerns for anything freezing up, and it a tree falls upon the unit, we’ll just pull it out and replace it.

After the turn of the new year, we begin catching cabin fever, the desire to get up north.  There are a number reasons,  for one, in the spring, the trees are filled with Baltimore Orioles. Ok, I’m not an fanatic bird lover, but spring time nesting songs of the Orioles just seems to captivate me. After nesting, the songs cease.  Even though the “cabin” is a mobile home, maintenance, upkeep and remodeling are mandatory just like any other place.  I usually spend my winter pondering, planning and executing (in my mind) the next year’s project.

I love the projects, which would surprise my father were he still alive.  In my earlier days, I would be on the water 10 hours a day.  Now I spend less time fishing and I would be thoroughly bored if it wasn’t for the spring projects.  Ya see, I’ve become a fair weather fisherman.  I’ve had years of fishing is the wind, cold, rain, storms, etc, etc., let the kids have at it.

This years projects are two, first I’m remodeling the attached spare room (I call it the grandkids bunk room), the other project is finishing the front bay window.  We had a new bay (looking) window installed last year.  Actually, it wasn’t a true bay window, rather three separate individual windows installed in a curved bay design.  To save money (why do we do things like that) I suggested that I could finish in the inside.  By the way, I never have finished interior windows.

This spring I have been bouncing between my two projects.  As ceiling, walls and flooring material arrive, I work on the bunk room, (note compressors, saws etc need to be set up outside requiring good weather), during inclement weather I work inside on the front windows.

This is an inclement weather day, 49 degrees, north wind and mist, a good day for the inside job.  Well there isn’t much remaining, merely install the last two shades or roller blinds if you prefer.  Did I tell you that this was a bay window facing east, the early morning sun is hot and blinding.  Are you familiar with bay windows?  Bay widows have a ledge or shelf.  In our situation the ledge is nearly waist high.  The perfect height for  nick-knacks, seemly my wife keeps 1,251 nick-knacks or so on that ledge.  Every time I worked on the trim, I needed move the nick-knacks from the ledge an on to the kitchen table, where incidentally I also needed to place various tools of remodeling.  When done with each phase of the project, I needed to return 1,251 nick-knacks back to the ledge, which always need to be rearranged after my misplacement.

This would be the end of this project, installing the two blinds, one completed, I moved to the second.  Half way to completion the screw driver jumped from my hand.  Did I say that since this was a simple project, I proceeded without removing the nick-knacks!  I wiped out two nick-knacks.  My wife was in the back and yells “what happened”?   I broke a couple of things, I says.

The installation completed, I take the “remains” of once vibrant nick-knacks to her.  She says, “I don’t want them!” She follows her statement with, “Well, did we learn anything from this?”  My mind race to, ” Yes, we had two many nick-knacks”. But in order to save face an divert blame, (I’ve learned that diverting blame is the modern thing to do today), I said, “Just goes to show, you should never let me a start on a project without your supervision.”   I followed that up with, ” Now you have a good reason to go out shopping for more nick-knacks.”

Note to self, use caution when diverting blame, also don’t damage “special” nick knacks.

 

About tgriggs17

Retired, CPA, enjoy freshwater fishing, being with my grandchildren, friends and family
This entry was posted in Jokes, Learning, Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cabin Fever

  1. Josh says:

    What nick-knacks did you break?!?

Leave a Reply

