I’m Rich!

Post # 313
I’m one of the lucky ones in this electronic, digital, internet world. Many of you have to wade through nefarious volumes of junk emails. I have made the decision to have an email provider that pre-determines the appropriateness of my incoming mail and places questionable pieces in a designated folder called Spam.

The Spam Folder is flagged with the number of new unread pieces. I merely need to review occasionally just to be certain no legitimate mail was mis-classified.
It was in one of the moments of perusal that I noted the first Notice of Award. I was busy. I just pushed the delete button. It was gone.

It was about six weeks later, the Christmas Season was upon us, presents being purchased, money running through our figures like water, that I again looked the Spam Folder and the second Notice of Award was there. Actually, it was from a Professor (why a professor?) from the FEDERAL MINISTRY OF FINANCE, NATIONAL HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY COMPLEX, SENATE HOUSE – UPPER CHAMBERS WUSE DISTRICT, COTONOU, BENIN, Our Ref: FGN /SNT/STB to be exact! I was not exactly unfamiliar with various countries, my hobby of amateur radio has helped me out there, but where was Benin? It turns out that Benin is some small country next to Togo, Africa.

But there again in my Spam Folder was the notice that I was being awarded $1.5 million dollars U.S. Woe, I’d better take another look at this. One and half million dollars could go a long way in giving money to family members. Looking further into the information, I see that I need to give $49 for document fees to get MY money. The $49 can be transferred by my giving my complete name, address, phone number, BANK NAME, ACCOUNT NUMBER and ROUTING NUMBER. Can you see where this is going?

I couldn’t stand it, all that money! I promptly tapped REPLY and considered by response…..it must be something good, something that cut this guy off!

“Dear Sir, I am sorry, but I am in prison for the murder of a man that took money from me. The Government has taken all of my possessions. I authorize you to deduct the $49 from the $1.5 million and send me the balance.”

I punched send and smiled…….. I was pretty proud of myself, ok, so what I sent was lie, but so was his notice in an attempt to “fleece” me.

Wait, four hours later I get a response! It says; He can’t take the $49 out of the $1.5 million, shoot, he missed the entire point of the first sentence.

The sad part of this story is that just 12 hours later, I saw a news story about a older lady that was defrauded for $250 thousand dollars on the very same scheme.

It is too bad that we are unable to protect the vulnerable and that there are people that spend so much effort trying to take it from you.  We just want something for nothing.

PS: It just gets better, it’s now 5 days after I had written this blog in a draft and I’ve received an email from the FBI, (J. Edgar Hoover Building, Washington DC), yep, they’ve confirmed the contact and have APPROVED the $2.4 million (note the amount has increased) I just need to pay the fee of $96.  (note this amount has increased!)  How dumb are these people!  I’m probably going to be sorry I started to play with them….

About tgriggs17

Retired, CPA, enjoy freshwater fishing, being with my grandchildren, friends and family
This entry was posted in Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m Rich!

  1. Ben Griggs says:

    This is big business in foreign countries. they target older people through both e-mail and regular mail and bleed them dry over time. The sense of morality is so messed up that they figure “people in the US have so much money that they don’t deserve, if they’re dumb enough to give it to me it’s not wrong.” Never mind that some of these older people have been driven to death over the stress and constant harassment.

    Don’t even get me started on the ones who use an actual telephone to pose as Microsoft technicians. It’s too bad, but we’ve got to be careful. I never answer the phone if it’s a number I don’t recognize.

Leave a Reply

