You Never Forget How to Ride a Bike

Post #319

We were in my favorite box store the other day, and near the check outs there was this display of bikes.  Each was labeled Refurbished $95.  They were sturdy mountain type bikes. About five were remaining on display.  I’ve thought about those bikes and wished I’d bought one.

I was remembering how in my eleventh year we summered around water.  You couldn’t keep me out of the lake.  I would swim for hours.  I never seemed able to keep my face down on the strokes, but then again, long ago our schools never had a swim team, so I was merely a recreational swimmer. I had no fear of the water.  I doubt that I’ve swum in the last 40 years.  Every time I go in the boat, I’m concerned about my limitations, so I always put on a life jacket.  I claim that you never know, you might hit your head on the way out of the boat.  Truth be told, I’m not sure how long I can tread water anymore.  I still remember how to swim, it now is a question of execution. I was sort of athletic without being an athlete!

We’ve been wintering around Florida for a change.  Just a brief trip.  We usually stay home and shove snow. We spent some time on the gulf shores.  The place we stayed provided “beach bikes”.  Full size bikes with oversized tires for beach riding.  I couldn’t wait.  Finally after days of blowing serf, a nice day arrived.  The wife opted for beautifying, I opted for a bike ride.

The oversized tires made the bike a little higher, which gave me some difficulty getting my leg up and over on the first try.  Next the seat didn’t fit quite right, and it slanted forward more than I expected.  Luckily, I was smart enough to ride on the packed wet sand for stability.  I ventured about a half mile down the shore when I noticed my knees beginning to feel strained.  I turned about and headed home.   By the time I returned to the cabin, I began contemplating knee replacement!

There’s the old saying, you never forget how to ride a bike.  Yep, you never forget how, but I think your knees forget.

About tgriggs17

Retired, CPA, enjoy freshwater fishing, being with my grandchildren, friends and family
This entry was posted in Learning, Life, Medical, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

