I Had a Dream

Post #326

There was a time when I had a dream. No it was not anything like a Dr. Martin Luther King dream.  It wasn’t even a nighttime dream, rather a wishful thinking dream.  It fact, is was probably more of a wish and desire than a dream.

I was introduced to this “thing” at least thirty years ago, and then I forgot all about it.  My memory was jogged a few days ago.   Goggle recently had a cover about Clara Rockmore, which would have been her 105th birthday.

If you lived through the early 1950’s Clara Rockmore’s expertise would have been know to you, as well as Leon Theremin.  Leon was the inventor of the strangest musical instrument you have ever seen.  No moving parts,  or valves, keys, strings, reeds, nor mouth pieces.

It was the Theremin.  Almost every B grade 1950’s Sci-Fi movie had the eerie  background sounds of a Theremin.

My dream at one time was to possess and be a virtuoso.  Of course my dream included instant success with no practice.   But my Theremin would have wound up being  like any other musical instrument I’ve tried, sitting in closet!  No my desire to practice never elevated me to any level of success at music.  Then again I’ve explained before my inability to keep time (the beat of music).

Here are a couple of examples of Theremin music.

“The Day the Earth Stood Still”      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JzRb1OVpat0

Here’s a You Tube link to a Theremin performance.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PjnaciNT-wQ

Gives a whole to picture to the concept of Air Guitar!!!

About tgriggs17

Retired, CPA, enjoy freshwater fishing, being with my grandchildren, friends and family
This entry was posted in Learning, Life, Music, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

