The Call

Post #335

So, I’m sitting here at the computer and my cell phone rang, I answered it.  It sounded like an Indian  (from India, not the American type).  He was from Tech Support, explaining that my computer was sending lots of error notices…..

He walked me through the steps to get to my Windows Task Manager and checked for which processes were NOT running-that were stopped.  Then he took me to Perfromance and explained that my CPU should be running at no less than 49%.  Since I was running at 16%, it proved that I had computer errors that needed fixed……so, he next took me to the New Task page and told me to type in a set of letter……….

Whoa……That’s when I explained, that I didn’t REALLY know who he was and wasn’t typing in ANY letters.  He re-explained that he was from Tech Support…..so I asked, what Windows Program am I running??  10, he said….  GOTCHA!!!  I’m running Windows 7, says I.  Thank you for your help and hung up on him…..then I turned off my cell phone.

Wait!  Question, (we have a house phone and two cell phones), how did he know to call my cell phone?????

Ha, Ha, Ha, you didn’t trick me in turning over my computer to you…….  🙂

To everyone else, don’t be fooled…….

About tgriggs17

Retired, CPA, enjoy freshwater fishing, being with my grandchildren, friends and family
This entry was posted in Learning, Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

