Off the Rez

Post #353

We arrived at our summer place, it was the usual long drive, 13 hours.  It wasn’t too bad, it was spring.  We drove into a different time zone and saved and hour, so it was still light upon our arrival.  We got caught up in the usual opening-up projects, turn on the LP gas, connect the water line, turn on all water values, ignite the stove and furnace pilot lights. We finally laid down to sleep.  When I got up, I shook my head, it was still dark, I had to shut off the gas, blow the water out of all the lines, put antifreeze in all the drains and spin a gallon of antifreeze through the clothes washer.  Where did the four months go? It seems like we had just arrived.

We had been here four months, vacationing on the lake in the middle of the Chippewa Indian Reservation.  I think I only came off the reservation four or five times in that four months.  Now, here I am putting many many miles between me and Rez.  The truck is pointing southerly, I’m pondering the trip around Chicago and beyond.

What shocks me is the amount of road construction once I’m off the Rez.  Minnesota, Wisconsin, Illinois and Indiana.  It must me an election year.  Orange cones everywhere. Even in my home town area, you can’t get anywhere in the usual direct line, there are detours, and closures on every  route.

It makes me wonder.  Sure it’s great that all these people are working, but where has all this equipment been sitting for the last five or ten years.  There’s not just SOME equipment, but EVERY job site has the same equipment in use or sitting, waiting to be used.  AND, whose paying for all this?  Did our government just recently get a big inheritance?  It can’t be new tax money, because half the corporations don’t pay any taxes, and those that would have moved to Ireland!!  I certainly hope the people in power haven’t borrowed more money from China, that we’ll never pay  back.

Yes, I’m off the Rez.  I think I see why those who live on the Rez, stay on the Rez.

 

About tgriggs17

Retired, CPA, enjoy freshwater fishing, being with my grandchildren, friends and family
This entry was posted in Life, Politics, The Economy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Off the Rez

  1. Dave and Tammie Olson says:

    Lol

    Good thing some lives matter!

    Good read.

    We wait and read your posts out loud…together. 

    Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

    From:”Terry’s Life and Times” Date:Mon, Sep 19, 2016 at 5:28 PM Subject:[New post] Off the Rez

    tgriggs17 posted: “Post #353 We arrived at our summer place, it was the usual long drive, 13 hours.  It wasn’t too bad, it was spring.  We drove into a different time zone and saved and hour, so it was still light upon our arrival.  We got caught up in the usual opening-“

Leave a Reply

