Tootles

Post #383

Tootles was one of the lost boys in Peter Pan.

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking recently.  It’s often a trying thing to do, in one’s mind.  Especially since what I’m thinking on places me in a role of self comparison.  I probably shouldn’t be doing that, since everyone’s life is different.

Being a grandparent is just a most wonderful thing.  Sure there’s a wonderment in being a parent, and as the Bible states a great responsibility, for “parents don’t provoke your children”. But being a grandparent gives great joy, without the usual day to day responsibilities, usually. We have lots of friends who also are grandparents, and they live close to their grandchildren and attend almost every sporting event in which they participate.  I get to thinking about our grandchildren, and our being visual in their interests. Our grandchildren live an hour away, three and half hours away and 10 hours away, and they total 10, seven girls and three boys. While we are interested in what they are doing, we aren’t sitting in stands applauding.

I’ve mentioned many times about my genealogy research, and how much family information has been lost.  If it wasn’t for cousin Frank’s research of the 1600’s and 1700’s family members, much more would have been lost.  As it is, 200 years of family stories are missing after 1750.  Who were, they, what did they think, why did they move, what were their joys and sufferings?  I remember my grandparents but almost nothing of great grandparents.

I’ve been reading my grandfather’s diaries, beginning with his first one in 1933.  I’ve progressed into the fourth decade and I am amazed and appalled at how much I DON’T remember.  It’s eye opening to see how many over-nights I spent with my grandparents and fishing trips with my grandfather, up or down the river.  This is where, in my reflections come into play, I feel like Tootles; “I’ve lost my marbles and can’t find them”.  Oh, sure, certain things come into focus from his diary accounts, but mostly I was busy growing up, thinking of my life, and those other times just seem like lost events.

So, like most grandparents, I wonder if our grandchildren will be able to remember togetherness?  And so my thinking is, that of wondering if my grand-parenting is better or worse than any of our friends methods?  I know that most of us are more forward looking, not backward looking, why should our grandchildren be any different.

I expect we all lose our marbles to some degree.  Tootles and I will keep looking for them.

 

About tgriggs17

Retired, CPA, enjoy freshwater fishing, being with my grandchildren, friends and family
This entry was posted in Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

