New Chairs

Post #390

How many times can I tell you that I’ve been reading my grandfather’s diaries?  It’s just amazing, the more I read the more I’d like to share with you.  I’ve been thinking about the furniture that he had. It was pretty good stuff.  Oh yeah, and my grandparents went through the period of clear plastic on the the couch! ( Couch, sometimes called sofa, or davan, davanett)  The couch was protected but you didn’t sit there very long, it was the proverbial HOT SEAT.  You know, now that I recall, I don’t believe my grandparents sat on the couch!

Anyway, this got me to thinking about the furniture that old(er) people have in their homes.  As I remember in my youth, many older people’s furniture wasn’t too comfortable.  We were sitting around home the other day drinking our morning coffee together when my wife says, “Do you remember when we got this chair?” (I hate marriage remembrance questions-there’s always a pitfall somewhere in there)

“No” I said.

“You bought that for my birthday, 28 years ago”.

“Wow, that means the red chair over there is almost 23 years old, and those are our two originals.  And the couch I’m sitting on we’ve had recovered was my parents, it must be about 35 years old.” I said

She says, and “this Lazy Boy rocker was my grandmother’s and it’s almost 4o years old.”

So, it’s true  The person I see in the mirror has turned old, he now has that old furniture he talked about when he was kid…….well at least I haven’t put clear plastic on anything…….yet.

About tgriggs17

Retired, CPA, enjoy freshwater fishing, being with my grandchildren, friends and family
This entry was posted in Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

